ITIL Certification – Stages Levels Exams

ITIL Certification
Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash
Best Easter Deals

An ITIL certification will enable you show your proficiency in Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). The latest ITIL framework is ITIL version 3 (V3), which consists of five volumes, namely:

  1. ITIL Service Strategy
  2. ITIL Service Design
  3. ITIL Service Transition
  4. ITIL Service Operation
  5. ITIL Continual Service Improvement

ITIL Certification Stages & Levels

There are four levels of ITIL certification within the V3 scheme:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • Practitioner Level
  • ITIL Intermediate Level
  • ITIL Expert Level
  • ITIL Master Qualification
  • Foundation level: At this level you get general information related to ITIL service life cycles like terminologies, elements and concepts.
  • Practitioner level: This level follows the foundation level. The practitioner level helps to improve your ability to adapt ITIL in business.
  • Intermediate level: This comes in a modular structure with each module focusing on a different aspect of IT service management. You can access this level only when you complete the above two levels.
  • Expert level: The Expert level is very important in  ITIL certification because here the aim is to enable you demonstrate your ITIL knowledge in your organisation.
  • Master level: At the master level, you have to design one or more practical assignment. These assignments will enable you apply various ITIL methods, principles and techniques you have learnt in order to achieve your desired business outcomes.

Each ITIL certification level consists of one or more modules. Each module has a corresponding exam that if completed successfully earns you a certain credit.

On completion of all required modules for an ITIL certification level or you earn the minimum credit level required, you are awarded an ITIL certification for the qualified ITIL level.

ITIL certification is managed the ITIL Certification Management Board (ICMB).

IT Related Articles

Paschal Okafor is NaijaTechGuide Team Lead. The article ITIL Certification – Stages Levels Exams was written by Paschal Okafor. The article was last modified: September 25th, 2018
Best Easter Deals
NaijaTechGuide may receive financial compensation for products/services purchased through affiliate links on this site. See full Affiliate Disclosure Here